Babe-prov

As a guy, I love improvising with babes because, let’s face it, it is fun to do anything with babes. My latest improv babe crush has big brown eyes, curly brown hair and one intense stare. In fact, “the stare” is one of her signature offers, along with funny faces, crying and spitting up.

I hate it when babes cry

Yes, I know I tricked you into reading this, but before you leave, hear me out.

First of all, this blog will NOT turn into one of those self-absorbed blogs all about my kid. (Uh, no offence to those of my friends who write blogs primarily about their kids, your blogs are not self-absorbed… I was talking about other blogs.) No, I am not destined to be a “Daddy-blogger” if such a horrific animal exists. That being said, this post, this particular post, is about my new crush: my newly adopted daughter. Sure she’s only 3 weeks old, but man, can she improv.

I love babes who can eat

Improvisers are taught to be “in the moment” and react to all offers given. Let me say here that having a tiny baby in my house means that all I have is “the moment.” Sure, I look at her and imagine how I am going to tell her that I cannot afford to buy a Porsche for her 16th birthday… but mostly, it is all about the now. When she sleeps, I sleep. When wants to eat, I feed her. When she cries, I cry, especially when this happens at 2:36 am. As an improviser, my daughter is all about the now.

Improvisers are also taught to make strong emotional offers. My wee bairn is a master at strong emotional offers. The cry, the scream, the whimper, the gurgle, the sneer, the mesmerizing stare… I challenge any veteran of the craft to match her ability to throw out these offers at her fast a furious pace.

I love babes with attitude

Although I am sure my little bundle of joy is gifted, at three weeks she still has some improv skills she needs to improve. Mirroring is a perfect example. She is great at leading a mirror, making cool facial offers (her favorites being the pursed lip stare and the one eyed pirate), but she is really bad a following my offers so far. Oh well, she’s new at this, so I cut her some slack and just follow her for now.

Everyone likes cute babe butt

Today’s Improvmantra: Be open to all of life’s offers, expecially the little ones.

About improvmantra

What is an improv mantra? An improv mantra is a phrase you repeat to yourself just before you go on stage, and continue to keep in your mind while you are in a scene. An effective mantra makes you a better improviser. Todd Erler, like all living creatures, has been doing improv every day since he was born. He has been performing improv on stage for more than 20 years. He is a teacher, writer, musicain, director, actor, and member of The Portable Reality Show.
This entry was posted in Attitude, Improv Life Lessons and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Babe-prov

  1. Jonathan Hibbs aka Uncle Jonathan says:

    And I know for a fact that she is absolutely fearless because she farts without embarrassment. Babies are the perfect audience to practice character voices and birth is the perfect time to start that “yes and” training/mindset.

  2. Very cool post. You keep it PG–something I attempt but rarely pull off-and the lay out with your kid against the babes–very cool. (cool x2)

Leave a Reply

