It’s Time To Start The Music!

I literally grew up with the Muppets, from Sesame Street, to The Muppet Show, to The Dark Crystal and Yoda. At one point in my life my dad banned TV in our household. Banned it! I missed MASH, I missed The Brady Bunch, I missed Solid Gold. But I did not miss the Muppets. All TV was banned except the Muppets. I was allowed to watch the Muppets… with my dad. I am probably an improviser today because of those stuffed and legless little guys.


I cried when Jim Henson died for God’s sake.

All this to say, I could not be more excited about the Muppet Movie opening this week. I mean come on! Jack Black is in it!

In honor of this historic I suggest you take this quiz:

Muppet Personality Test

Today’s Improvmantra: It’s not easy being green, but it is worth it.

About improvmantra

What is an improv mantra? An improv mantra is a phrase you repeat to yourself just before you go on stage, and continue to keep in your mind while you are in a scene. An effective mantra makes you a better improviser. Todd Erler, like all living creatures, has been doing improv every day since he was born. He has been performing improv on stage for more than 20 years. He is a teacher, writer, musicain, director, actor, and member of The Portable Reality Show.
This entry was posted in Improv Life Lessons and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s Time To Start The Music!

  1. Have you watched Jim Henson’s funeral on YouTube? It’s my go to if I need a good cry

  2. Todd Erler says:

    I’m a muppet of a man!

Leave a Reply

